Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /nfs/c02/h04/mnt/30329/domains/ on line 36

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /nfs/c02/h04/mnt/30329/domains/ on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /nfs/c02/h04/mnt/30329/domains/ on line 540

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /nfs/c02/h04/mnt/30329/domains/ : eval()'d code on line 306
Speaking of Pianists » Blog Archive » Roman Rabinovich at the International Keyboard Institute and Festival

go to discount frontpage software cheap excel for mac download autodesk infrastructure design suite ultimate 2015 napp photoshop cs5 discount best price adobe acrobat mac buying photoimpact x3 buy adobe indesign cs3 software buy adobe design premium cs4 cost of adobe flash professional cc 2014 cheap microsoft works 8.0 buy acronis true image buy microsoft works suite 2003 go to go to order microsoft office publisher 2007 buy ms outlook 2010 buying adobe after effects cheap
  • cheap adobe photoshop cs4 for mac here buy drive genius 3 discount powerpoint for students when can i buy office 2013 buy quicken 2010 deluxe buying word 2007 product key buying microsoft access 2007 buy microsoft money 2004 buy adobe acrobat 7.0 upgrade purchase adobe software buy adobe acrobat 9.0 adobe cs5 design premium price buy autocad civil 3d cost of autodesk plant design suite ultimate 2015 price of office home and business 2010 here buy screenflow
  • Roman Rabinovich at the International Keyboard Institute and Festival


    July 29th, 2011

    Bach: English Suite No. 5 in E minor, BWV 810
    Ravel: Daphnis and Chloe (arr. Rabinovich)
    Brahms: Intermezzi Op. 119, No. 1 and 3
    Stravinsky: Petrushka Suite


    Roman Rabinovich is a young Uzbekistan-born Israeli pianist who studied at the Rubin Academy in Tel Aviv as well as in this country at the Curtis Institute and the Juilliard School. He already has a busy international career and is also a gifted painter who has won awards for his artwork.

    One noticed several things as soon as he began his program with the Fifth English Suite of Bach. He played with very fine nuancing which, together with terrific fingers, made for wonderful clarity in multi-voice writing. He took rather fast tempi for some of the movements and used a bit more Romantic freedom than usual with the beat (some people might feel, a bit too much), but it was always interesting. He also had some nice creative ideas, such as playing the repeat of the theme in the second Passepied an octave higher.

    In 1988, when Mr. Rabinovich was three years old I heard the almost 96 year old Mieczyslaw Horszowski play this English Suite at Town Hall. I wonder what Mr. Rabinovich would think of that performance? Horszowski obviously didn’t have the energy (or tempi!) of a young man at that point in his life but there was a wisdom and a dignity and a calm in his playing that were wonderful.

    In the first movement of Mr. Rabinovich’s impressive arrangement of Daphnis and Chloe I first heard the repose I had occasionally wished for in the Bach. It was wonderful, and one especially couldn’t help but notice the exotic beauty of the second movement. The fast movements were exhilarating, especially the fiendishly difficult concluding Danse générale.

    Mr. Rabinovich’s technique is strong, indeed. One never worries for him. I was reminded of Abram Chasins’ comment to the exceptionally reliable Wilhelm Backhaus after the latter gave a recital: “But you never play wrong notes!” Replied Backhaus: “I don’t practice the wrong notes!”

    After the intermission Mr. Rabinovich played the slow Brahms Intermezzo in B minor and the jaunty C major Intermezzo with affection, and then launched into a blockbuster performance of Petrushka, which was hugely impressive! He caught all the changes of mood wonderfully from sprightly to ironic to coy to forceful. The clarity of voicing referred to before, plus his wonderful rhythmic sense (especially with syncopation) and his terrific imagination all worked to great effect.

    Mr. Rabinovich played three encores, the first two by Scarlatti. He gave a lovely perfumed performance of the slow C minor Sonata, and then a lively, bouncy reading of the Sonata in D minor. After which, for a change of pace, he played the Rachmaninoff G Sharp minor Prelude, which was also very good.

    A very impressive recital.

    Donald Isler, pianist, reviewing for The Classical Music Guide



    Roman Rabinovich will perform on Portland Piano’s “Close Up” Series on November 21, 2011 in Lincoln Recital Hall at Portland State University. For more information, visit



    Leave a Reply